Minutes of BURT LAKE TRAIL COMMITTEE November 28, 2011

A meeting of the Burt Lake Trail Committee was held at the Burt Lake Township Hall, 7029 Birchwood Road, Cheboygan, Michigan on November 28, 2011 at 7 p.m.

Committee members present: Steve Vorenkamp (Chair), Ann Baughman (Vice Chair), Connie Vorenkamp, Art Pillen, Bert Ebbers, Kim Kihnke-Laninga, Jay Jontz, and Virginia Chenevere. Also attending: Patti Johnson, Leo Chenevere, Gene Hodulik, Mary Street, Dennis Dombroski, Jim Larson and Joyce Hutto-Nolan (Recording Secretary).

Motion

Moved by Jay Jontz and seconded by Art Pillen to accept the minutes of September 26, 2011 as written.

Motion unanimously approved.

2012 Meeting Schedule

Meetings to be held the 4th Monday of the following months at 7 p.m. January 23 February 27 March 26 April 23 June 25 July 23 August 27 September 24 November 26

Motion

Moved by Ann Baughman and seconded by Gary Street to submit the following existing members to the Burt Township Board for approval: Bert Ebbers, Virginia Chenevere, Jay Jontz, Frank Kestler, Kim Kihnke-Laninga, Art Pillen, Mac Richardson, John Roberts, Gary Street, Connie Vorenkamp, and Steve Vorenkamp.

Motion unanimously approved.

Motion

Moved by Gary Street and seconded by Connie Vorenkamp to submit the following new members to the Burt Township Board for approval as a trail committee member: Patti Johnson and Kelley Jontz.

Motion unanimously approved.

Motion

Moved by Connie Vorenkamp and seconded by Jay Jontz to submit Mary Street as a new trail committee member to the Burt Township Board for approval.

Motion unanimously approved

Project Timeline

Steve Vorenkamp reviewed the timelines necessary to have the trail section from Maple Bay Campground to Hogsback Road completed in 2012. All easements from Maple Bay to Hogsback Road need to be secured by March 23, 2012. It was decided to make an effort to meet the timeline goals but to be prepared for setbacks delaying certain phases.

Financial Report

Gary Street reported that as of October 31, 2011, the total amount pledged in trail contributions is \$142,850 and the amount collected is \$64,000. The deadline to secure matching funds is April 6, 2012. Additional pledges will be needed to reach the goal.

Committees

Finance committee: Connie Vorenkamp (Chair), Virginia Chenevere, Gary Street, Ann Baughman and Art Pillen. Publicity: John Roberts (Chair), Kelley Jontz. Event Planning: Kim Kihkne-Laninga (Chair), Virginia Chenevere. Easements: Jay Jontz, Patti Johnson, Connie Vorenkamp.

Old Business

A trail tax letter update was sent out this month. A committee survey conducted by e-mail was completed.

Trail Update

Ann Baughman will mail an end of the year thank you letter to trail pledge donors and request that unpaid pledges be made by mid March 2012.

Officers

Motion

Moved by Jay Jontz and seconded by Ann Baughman to elect Steve Vorenkamp as Chair of the Burt Lake Trail Committee.

Motion unanimously approved.

Motion

Moved by Jay Jontz and seconded by Connie Vorenkamp to elect Ann Baughman as Vice Chair of the Burt Lake Trail Committee.

Motion unanimously approved.

Public Comment

Leo Chenevere said the Burt-Mullet Lake Road is scheduled to be paved in 2012, therefore the Burt Lake Trail Committee will need to contact the Cheboygan County Road Commission. Gene Hodulik asked about the status of the connecting trail.

Motion

Moved by Jay Jontz and seconded by Gary Street to adjourn. **Motion unanimously approved**.

Meeting adjourned at 8:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Joyce Hutto-Nolan, Recording Secretary